How to Become a Real Estate Agent in Texas
Updated: Oct 7
Steps to get your Real Estate license in Texas
(The process, qualifications, cost, and timeline for becoming an agent differ from state to state).
Check your eligibility. (Must be an upstanding Texas resident who is at least 18 years old, Citizen of the United States or lawfully admitted alien and meet the Texas Real Estate Commission standards for honesty, trustworthiness, and integrity)
Take a 180-hour Texas real estate pre license course approved by the Texas Real Estate Commission TREC.
Get your fingerprints taken and pass your background check. (Complete a background check by requesting a Fitness Determination from TREC)
Complete and pass the state licensing exam and submit your application form with TREC.
Activate your real estate license
Consider becoming a Realtor®
Join a brokerage
The Texas pre license requirements consist of six 30-hour courses
Law of Agency
Promulgated Contracts Forms
Law of Contracts
Real Estate Finance
Every state requires individuals to take pre-licensing training from a certified institution before they can sit for the real estate licensing exam. The required number of training hours can vary significantly by jurisdiction: In Texas, for example, real estate agents must take 180 hours of pre-licensing training, but in Oklahoma they need to take 90 hours.